Hello, I'm newly registered to GradCafe (although I've read forum posts) and i was wondering if I could get some help with looking for work experience prior to grad school.

I live in NYC and am currently in my 3rd to last semester of second BA grad studies (Queens College for reference) and am very worried that my resume (CV?) will not be strong when applying. I have not taken my GRE yet which I plan to do so come this summer. I hold a 3.6 GPA from my bachelor's in psychology degree (Hunter College) and currently have a 4.0 in my CSD pre requisite courses.

I've had some volunteer experience in the past and am now shadowing 2 SLPs (not fieldwork or observation hours) in a public elementary school. However I am now seeking possible positions more closely related to the CSD/SLP field in order to gain valuable experience and, as I have been told,  jobs will hold more weight than volunteer/shadowing experience. I recently got let go from my retail job (which was absolutely justified and might i say, quite embarrassing as well) so I am worried that HR from the retail will intervene with me applying to other jobs.

That said, would there be any suggestions as to where to apply? I've searched for, child program assistant, medical receptionist, PT office receptionist, PT aide, and tutoring jobs. I have also emailed a bunch of clinics to inquire as to whether there may be openings (even if receptionist or clerical). I've had very little luck however, some responses here and there but no interviews or calls.