Accept Terminal MA Offer at Prestigious School or PhD Offer at Okay School

dlk527

Question

Hi.

Let's say one is offered acceptance into an experimental/social psychology PhD program at an okayyy school (but full tuition waved + stipend) AND offered acceptance into psychology terminal masters program at a much better school -- say NYU -- (however no stipend or tuition waived)......  which should he choose? NYU was my top school, but I was only accepted for terminal MA without funding. But I also have an offer right now with full funding for PhD program. It's just not a very prestigious program -- recent doctorates of this program aren't getting great jobs in academia. 

I should mention that if I choose the terminal MA, I would of course apply to PhD programs following it (with the hopes of getting into better PhD programs than the one I am accepted to now). I am a graduating undergrad senior (GPA 3.77; V - 161; Q - 156)

Thank you.

5 answers to this question

Each person has their own goals, motivations, resources, and priorities!

Personally, if I was in this situation, I would never take an unfunded terminal Masters. My thought is that there aren't any post-PhD career paths that would be worth an unfunded graduate degree (at any level). So even if the unfunded Masters led to a great PhD program, there's nothing beyond that which would make up for the unfunded Masters. But this is my opinion based on what I value/prioritize.

So, if the okay PhD program will still allow me to accomplish my career goals, I'd consider that. If I was not happy with any funded PhD offers then I would either take a different career path that doesn't require a PhD or apply for funded PhD programs again in a future year.