Cheaper MA vs. Higher Ranking MA

costigan95

Hello,

Similar questions have been asked, but I wanted to give my particular example.

I graduated from a Public University with a 3.55 GPA BS in Sociology with a History minor, in December. I am planning to pursue a PhD in History and am reasoning the best path forward. 

The head of the History Department at my alma mater recommended that I look in to a MA before pursuing a PhD, as I need to iron out my languages, some more research experience, and it would only serve to strengthen my overall admission chances into a strong PhD program. My two areas of interest are 20th Century German History and US Foreign Policy in in the 1960s.

If my end goal is a PhD, then does the ranking of my MA matter all that much? My school's graduate program specializes in US History, but she said that my focus on Foreign Policy would allow for a reasonably easy transition into a German History PhD, along with better language skills. I can go here for my MA and accumulate a relatively small amount of debt, and the faculty is great. However, its not ranked super high. 

Alternatively, I could drop more money on a well known MA program and go into a PhD with substantially more debt.

I would appreciate thoughts on the matter.

Thanks! 

tldr; Cheap and convenient MA, or prestigious and expensive MA before PhD?

My only concern is that the low ranked MA program won't give you the training you need. That is, will you be able to gain experience with relevant archives and primary sources if you go to that school? Will you begin taking broad and specific grad seminars on European history in general and German history in particular?

6 minutes ago, rising_star said: