GRE is making me want to give up grad school

ghong

This is my second time applying for grad school and it would be my third time taking the test.

I just can't seem to get the questions right, both quant and verbal. Out of the 10 verbal questions I solved, I got 2 questions right. 

I'm following magoosh 90day plan and i'm already two-three weeks behind because I have hard time focusing and it takes me forever to find answers to the questions. And when I do, I get the questions wrong, so I go back and spend too much time trying to understand wth I did wrong. 

This isn't rewarding at all. My scores always have been and it still is within the 20th 30th percentile.

I feel ashamed and I just don't want to do this.

I graduated with magna cum laude so I'm sure I'm not stupid but whenever I take the practice test I feel so dumb.

GRE is literally making me depressed. 

I don't even know what to do anymore. 

I had similar frustrations.  Very smart, but full of failure with the GRE.  Ironically, despite being a prolific reader, I was terrible at the verbal section, simply because the way they word things is really tricky.

I found that reading a lot about how the GRE is constructed helped me, and going over the specific areas where I was having trouble.  I wasn't worried about writing, so I just ignored studying for that, and focused on verbal and specific math competencies.

I agree with Resilient, though - my MA program didn't require a GRE, so I didn't take it.  Are you sure your schools/programs require it?  If not, I wouldn't. :)

Depending on what field you're going into, there may be programs that do not take the GRE. I know that Biology/Biomed programs are largely starting to drop it, there's a list of programs that have dropped it already floating around this forum. I would imagine that there are other fields doing the same thing.

• 2 months later...
  • 4 weeks later...