Anyone aced the GRE in one try?

SpYEsther

Hi everyone, 

Is there anyone who did really well on the GRE on the first try, and didn't need to take the test again? If you did, how did you study? Any tips? 

Thanks! 

Umm I wouldn't say I aced it - I got V/Q scores of 157/154 - but I got into my PhD program with that, so... 

I studied with a GRE study book by Kaplan and with Magoosh for vocab. 

Every year, there are a good amount of people who  'ace' the GRE; I was not one of them.

I came close though, with a 170/169/5.5. Getting this level of score is not going to make a vast difference (if any at all) above a 'good' store for your program of choice.

For verbal, I used the Magoosh flashcards app. Practice reading some passages and testing reading comprehension. Other than that, the verbal is very straightforward. I focused more on Q, since it is much more important in my field.

For quant, I used Magoosh to review some basic concepts. Magoosh is really helpful when it comes to solidifying what exactly you need  to know and will be tested. If you can take this in the summer or over a break, that's for the best. Forget all calculus, high-level stats, etc. Just become an absolute expert on the basics which will appear on the GRE. (You can find this information and should review it in the official ETS GRE Guide.)

In short, use the following:

Magoosh GRE Vocab Flashcard App, Magoosh subscription (find someone to split this with), Manhattan 5lb book (for math problems only) and all of the official guides from the ETS.

In all, I dropped a little under 100 bucks on materials, but it was worth it.

Edited by StatHopeful