Should I go to both interviews or just one?

gasmasque

Hi GradCafe, I need your advice on something. I got invited to two interviews on the same weekend: one is on Friday and one is on Saturday -- however, in order to make the Saturday interview the only flight available would afford me 4-5 hours of sleep tops. The first interview is for a backup school, and the second interview is for a top-choice school. Would you go to both and risk loss of sleep for a bad interview performance Saturday, or would you just go to the second interview?

The first school will not let me reschedule the interview, does not have any alternative interview days, and does not do Skype interviews. So it's either me going to the first + second interview, or the second interview by itself and decline the first.

If it helps any, my GPA is in the admitted-candidate range, my GRE scores (general & subject) are all in the low to high 90th percentile, and I have two years of research experience outside of undergrad (work as lab manager), one second-author publication submitted and five first author posters.

Thanks so much!

-gasmasque

14 minutes ago, gasmasque said:

Hi GradCafe, I need your advice on something. I got invited to two interviews on the same weekend: one is on Friday and one is on Saturday -- however, in order to make the Saturday interview the only flight available would afford me 4-5 hours of sleep tops. The first interview is for a backup school, and the second interview is for a top-choice school. Would you go to both and risk loss of sleep for a bad interview performance Saturday, or would you just go to the second interview?

The first school will not let me reschedule the interview, does not have any alternative interview days, and does not do Skype interviews. So it's either me going to the first + second interview, or the second interview by itself and decline the first.