What's the best backup plan?

Psych1st

Hey everyone! 

This is my first time applying to grad school, specifically PhD programs. I know that realistically there is a pretty small chance of me getting in this time. However, I'm still be hopeful! 

If I don't get in, I'm trying to figure out the best plan. Would it be better to apply to a master's program or try to find a job in the field? I'm not sure what would help me more, or maybe if I need to have time to do both before applying again. 

I haven't published anything that I've presented at conferences yet, but I'm currently looking into how to do that and I could definitely work on that. I can also work on my GRE scores once I graduate from undergrad and have more time. I just don't know if a master's would be more beneficial or a job. I just know that I want my PhD eventually, and hopefully sooner than later. 

My psychology department is kinda unorthodox so I don't have many professors that know a lot about clinical psychology and PhD programs. 

Thanks! 

Sincerely, 

a confused undergrad 

11 minutes ago, Psych1st said:

Hey everyone! 

This is my first time applying to grad school, specifically PhD programs. I know that realistically there is a pretty small chance of me getting in this time. However, I'm still be hopeful! 

If I don't get in, I'm trying to figure out the best plan. Would it be better to apply to a master's program or try to find a job in the field? I'm not sure what would help me more, or maybe if I need to have time to do both before applying again. 

I haven't published anything that I've presented at conferences yet, but I'm currently looking into how to do that and I could definitely work on that. I can also work on my GRE scores once I graduate from undergrad and have more time. I just don't know if a master's would be more beneficial or a job. I just know that I want my PhD eventually, and hopefully sooner than later.