Need help finding higher education PhD program!

meganljohnson06

I have a masters in higher education and now I'm looking into doctoral programs.  I've read over and over again about how important it is to choose a program/university based on similar research interests.  But I have an extremely specific interest related to military/veteran dependents in higher education and, so far, I haven't been able to find anyone with my specific interests.  I've gone on the websites of more universities than I can remember and found a few people with not-quite-adjacent interests, but no one with my specific interest as it just isn't an area that gets researched.

So how do I choose a program/advisor?  Do I choose someone that has any kind of military/veteran/higher ed research interest?  "Military" and "veteran" are such a broad areas and I'm not sure if that matters.  How close does an advisor's interest have to be to mine?  Or maybe I find someone with a research style?  Or are there higher ed doctoral programs that more individualized?

Hi! I'm not sure about how close an interest has to be to yours, but from my own application process, I've had more positive communications and acceptances to programs with whom my interests closely align with the professor(s) I indicated. I also had kind of a niche research interest within the realm of education. One thing that I did to identify professors/programs is search for peer-reviewed articles on my research interest, look at the author(s) of the article and then google that author to see if they are currently a professor in any education PhD programs. 

What I can suggest you is that reach out to those couple of professors you have found and ask them if there are other faculty members they know that work on the issues of your interest. My interests are somewhat very specific and considered as a newly emerging literature in education so I had to ask around to find certain professors that actually work on issues of my interest.