Is there such thing as too many degrees?

GradSchoolGrad

Does having too many degrees begin to be a negative factor to employers at a certain point? or in general? Thoughts?

My situation that makes me wonder

I have a degree from undergrad and 2 different masters (fortunate enough to be sponsored for all 3).

I was thinking that after my current job now for 5 years or so (maybe more, maybe less)... to pursue another master's degree for another career pivot. I'm just one of those people likes to do new things all the time and learn new things. Funding isn't issue (at least not now)... Time, that is something I need to think about personally.

However, I have been warned that if I get more than what I have now, it becomes a negative to employers.

Edited by GradSchoolGrad

I think it depends how this could be interpreted. It may look like you do not seem to know where you're going, why you're doing the things you're doing on a resume with too many degrees. BUT, if they tend to complement one another and there's some type of link between all these degrees, this can look as an asset.

Just my two cents. But at the end of the day, you do what you want depending on what your career goals are :)

Edited by Adelaide9216

3 hours ago, GradSchoolGrad said:

Does having too many degrees begin to be a negative factor to employers at a certain point? or in general? Thoughts?

My situation that makes me wonder

I have a degree from undergrad and 2 different masters (fortunate enough to be sponsored for all 3).

I was thinking that after my current job now for 5 years or so (maybe more, maybe less)... to pursue another master's degree for another career pivot. I'm just one of those people likes to do new things all the time and learn new things. Funding isn't issue (at least not now)... Time, that is something I need to think about personally.

However, I have been warned that if I get more than what I have now, it becomes a negative to employers.