Fall 2021 Theater/Performance Studies PhD

DoctorMusical

Hi everyone!

Very new here, but just started my exploratory process and thought I'd send this message out into the quarantine void. I know that it is hard to imagine what life will be like a year from now, given how crazy 2020 has been so far, but I'm hoping to begin the journey to my next degree.

For background, I have a Bachelors degree in MT and an MFA in playwriting from a top-tier school. While I was in grad school, I began to realize that I wanted to supplement my education in craft, with a more academic approach to research and analysis, with the hope of the latter helping to provide a more solid foundation for my art.

I previously looked into the PS MA at NYU Tisch, the TAPS PhD at Brown, and the Dramaturgy DFA at Yale.

I've started having conversations over the past few weeks with various colleagues and former professors. I'm just starting to methodically evaluate each program in the US (looking at curriculums, faculty backgrounds, recent dissertations).

I wanted to start this thread to try to find an accountability/solidarity buddy while I wade through this unfamiliar process.

• 1 month later...

Hi there

I will also (probably) be applying to PhD programs! I have too many degrees to name, but will be moving to Chicago to start a company dedicated to making new work with/for/by/about BIPOC, Trans and Queer folks of all abilities. Thus, I'm probably only looking at Northwestern and University of Chicago. Does anyone have any specific comparisons of the two programs? I find it so hard to get a feel for a program from their websites. 

@DoctorMusical how did you decide who to contact in each program and what to say? I get the feeling that many of them are too busy to just answer questions about their programs lol 

Hi All!

Also Looking to apply for Fall 2021.  I've applied in past years and was not accepted so I took some time off to work on my writing, and to continue , well just working.