NSERC PGS D 2021-2022

MarleyBarley

Also applying for the second time this year! Hoping for better results.

Does anyone know if it is frowned upon if you don't majorly change your research proposal topic? Like are the committee members the same from last year?

Thanks!

22 hours ago, rawberry1 said:

This is my first time applying through an institution. Does anyone know if the status should change to "approved" soon as the schools submit their applications?

Mine last year changed from "Submitted" to "Received" once the university submitted my application to NSERC.

8 minutes ago, SalmoSalar said:

Mine last year changed from "Submitted" to "Received" once the university submitted my application to NSERC.

Thanks! Do you remember roughly what time last year? The administrator told me the review process was complete and they submitted things to nserc by October 16 last year. I figure it's the first stage of possible rejection, so I'm checking my status every day.

Just now, rawberry1 said:

Thanks! Do you remember roughly what time last year? The administrator told me the review process was complete and they submitted things to nserc by October 16 last year. I figure it's the first stage of possible rejection, so I'm checking my status every day.

Last year my university notified me whether my application was being forwarded to the national competition or not via email three weeks after applications were due. So this year applications were due on October 13, so I do not expect to hear from the university until at least November 3. At this point they also let me fix any formatting issues that the panel noticed when reviewing my application. I had a week and a half to resubmit before they forwarded my application to NSERC. 

I do not know if this is standard practice across universities, but I would give it more time. Also, your university should be contacting you either way.

Just now, SalmoSalar said: