2021 Application Thread for Communications Program

Saw someone do this for 2020, and hoping to get one started for 2021!

Also hi there ? first post here, newbie to the grad cafe. I'm a Communications PhD hopeful, looking to study the intersection between sports, social media, and culture. Below are the schools I'm finishing up my apps to / looking to apply:

University of Alabama

UT Austin

USC

NYU

UNC

Penn State

Texas Tech

I read another post where I learned a bit about Brown's Modern Culture and Media PhD program, anyone have more info on that program? Anyone who is applying again and noticing big differences between applying this year and last year? Also, are there interviews generally for comms programs?

Good luck to all my fellow peeps!

• 2 weeks later...

Also a newbie here. I’ve been on Reddit but it seems to be primarily hard sciences and masters programs over there.

Looking to research ethics in artificial intelligence & digital media and its impact on marginalized communities.

I have had a difficult time finding schools that meet my criteria of substantive focus areas, PIs, cities I’d enjoy living in AND fully funded. As such, my list has been narrowed down to the following:

•UPenn

•Penn State

•UNC 

ETA: Communication & Visual Rhetoric (BA); Education, Secondary (MSEd). 5 years of professional work experience post undergrad. 

Edited by MomoTodoroki
Added background info.

• 2 weeks later...

Glad to see this thread open for Fall 2021!

I have a similar research interest as Momo - implications of growing influence of AI and IT giants in entertainment and media and impact of Asian American diaspora.

I applied to the following programs :

• UPenn ASC
  • Northwestern Screen Cultures
  • UT Austin RTF
  • UC Berkeley Film and Media 
  • UIUC ICR 
  • NYU Tisch Cinema Studies 

I have a BA in Communication Arts - Radio, TV & FIlm, MFA in Documentaries and 10 years of professional work experience post undergrad. 

Edited by Kim2016