chance of getting into a phd?

lamirada

All phd applications are turned in, and we are in the waiting game. I applied to 20 schools (mid to top tier). But now I wonder how my profile really looks to the admission committee and want to hear some honest opinions. I already got rejected from WUSTL.

Undergraduate GPA: 3.31 (Major GPA: 3.43) -- from one of the top public universities in US

MA GPA: 3.87 -- from one of the top 10 programs on PGR

I didn't take GRE since most schools did not accept it or made it optional.

I showed my writing sample to 5 professors, 1 postdoc, and 1 classmate. The general reception was very positive. I had to revise here and there. But the comments ranged from "good," strong," and "solid" to "really good." The topic is on McDowell. So, naturally, I applied to programs where professors work on related topics.

No research or publication experience. But I worked as a lecturer and a TA for one year.

There's no way I can tell whether my letters are strong. But two of my letter writers were on my thesis committee and the other writer was my professor for one semester (I got A in his class).

On my SOP, I mentioned and explained two research interests (primary and secondary). And I mentioned in average 4-5 professors I want to work with in detail + if necessary, a few more whose work I am interested in.