Love the program, hate the location. Advice?

OutOfPlace

Hi GradCafe,

I'm a 2nd year PhD student in a 5-year program.  Academically, I couldn't ask for a better situation; in particular, I'm working with a fantastic advisor who is essentially the reason I came here.  

The problem is, this program is located in a small college town in the South, and I absolutely hate living here.  

Almost all my family is on the West Coast, my extended family is in the Midwest, and my closest friends are in the Northeast where I did undergrad - so I'm about as far as you can get from the people who matter to me.  I've spent my life in liberal, urban areas and loved it, and the Southern culture and small town-ness are stifling.  I've made a few good friends, but it's hard to meet people around here who share my interests.  In short, this is the opposite of where I would like to spend the bulk of my twenties.

Now, I knew all this going into it, but I figured that the academics are what mattered and I'd spend all my time working anyways.  I wasn't totally wrong; however, I underestimated the psychological toll of not liking where I live.  I can't stop imagining "grass is always greener" scenarios about what it would be like to have chosen a different school, or to quit and get an industry job.  I also underestimated how long 5 years really is, especially being so very far from my family.

I have this raging internal debate between "You'd be a spoiled idiot to give up this opportunity just because you aren't in your perfect city" versus "It's my life and I shouldn't sink 3.5 more years into being unhappy".

Or maybe I'm just Sophomore Slumping and looking for excuses?

Anyways, I was hoping some of you wise elders might have some advice.  Has anyone been through this before?  Any good ideas for dealing?  Perhaps in the later grad years, it's possible to go out-of-state more often?  Tough love is welcome too, if you think I should just suck it up.

Thanks for listening.

Hi GradCafe,