Graduate school and mental health

chaos_04

Hello,

I am in my second year of a two years masters program. School has been my life ever since I can remember; however, all the sudden I am questioning everything I have chosen for myself. I worry whether or not I will get into the PhD program I applied for or whether I will find a good job. I stress about the impression I make on others, particularly other academics. Although i previously was very confident in my work, I am now second guessing everything I have done. I keep double checking all my work- even from as far back as two years ago! I re-run all my analyses to make sure the numbers match up, and now I am taking it a step further by double checking all my references to make sure I did not misquote them or accidentally plagerize.

I am not sure what is going on but I feel helpless and desperate. The anxiety inside of me is making me sick. I don't want to do anything. I feel guilty of ... what I am not sure. I just feel like everything I have ever worked for is going to be taken away from me. I think about suicide often, though I would never do it. I just want to feel happy and secure with my decisions, and feel worthy of what I have earned instead of worried about mistakes I might have made or will make.

Just wondering if anyone has felt this way about grad school life? I try to talk to others about it, but it feels like no one really gets it.

Thanks.

I think you should call your school's counselling office and set up an appointment ASAP. You need to talk to a professional to work out your anxiety and suicidal ideation. If you don't talk to someone who can help soon, it's only going to get worse. I'm sorry to paint it that bleak, but I'm very serious that you need to get some counselling. Call tomorrow morning.

I second johndiligent.