Another failed attempt at the GRE

Yep

Hey Everyone,

I'm down in the dumps currently. I was able to take the GRE for the third time & my scores did not improve (150 v, 151 Q). I honestly feel like my goal to get into a counseling or clinical program is slipping. I have a masters in Clinical psychology with a focus in research. I have multiple poster presentations, a 4.0 GPA, and a finished thesis in Masculine Depression. I am looking for any advice on what to use to improve my GRE or what routes are available for me besides PH.D. Thank you for taking the time for responding.

Would it be possible for you to turn any of those posters into an actual publication in a peer-reviewed journal? That would definitely improve your profile as an applicant and, if you have a poster,  I'd assume at least some of the research has already been conducted, rite?

Edited by spunky

1 hour ago, spunky said:

Would it be possible for you to turn any of those posters into an actual publication in a peer-reviewed journal? That would definitely improve your profile as an applicant and, if you have a poster,  I'd assume at least some of the research has already been conducted, rite?

I don't think I would be able to do that unfortunately. 

Options wise it kind of depends on what you actually want to do. If you want to do research, not practice then you can always pursue a PhD in general psychology and focus on clinical topics. These programs aren't quite as competitive and could be a good option. In addition, some health psychology programs could achieve this end as well. As far as practicing, there are Masters programs that prepare people to be counselors/clinicians rather than researchers.