Consider Texas Tech for a funded MA in philosophy!

AKFlowerree

If you are looking at terminal MA programs, I encourage you to take a look at Texas Tech University!

I'm an Assistant Professor at Texas Tech University in Lubbock, TX. At TTU we have a funded, ranked MA program (check it out here), with decent placement (here). We try to make sure we fund all our grad students. The stipend is modest ($13,000), but the cost of living in west Texas is very low.

I myself attended a terminal MA program (forever loyal to University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee!), and I can speak to the many benefits of a two year MA before going on for a PhD. You have time to develop a polished writing sample, delve deeply into topics, gain a broader understanding of philosophy, learn to articulate your research interests, and discover whether you're ready to be poor for philosophy. The faculty here are dedicated to seeing our MA students succeed. 

We begin reviewing applications on Feb 15, but will consider all applications until we've filled our class. If you have any questions about the program, life in west Texas, or practical reasons for belief, feel free to contact me, Amy.Flowerree@ttu.edu.

Don't worry, I'm not reading the posts on other threads. This can still be a safe place to vent (venting is an important part of a regrettably agonizing process). Be well, y'all, and be kind to yourselves.

Amy Flowerree

https://sites.google.com/view/flowerree

Edited by AKFlowerree