2022 Fall PhD applications - international students

darklings

On 8/19/2021 at 12:43 AM, anthro_eco said:

I'm applying in EEB, how about yourself?

I am applying for comp bio/bioinformatics.
I am currently doing a master in the US, as of now i have nothing to show from my master, and the results from things I am doing are just like shits.  i am stressed with everything...

Yeah I'm pretty stressed as well, have been told by the profs in the US I have been emailing that I have a very strong track record but it just isn't working out with as many people I'd like to, many have said they don't have funding for internationals or they already are in touch with a domestic student so my chances are low but I should still apply given my profile. I'm going through a rough patch financially so I'll have to be careful where I apply to. I do have a professor who seems to be interested in me at Wisconsin-Madison so I hope that zoom call with him goes well. I'm a final year master student from India by the way. 

14 hours ago, anthro_eco said:

Yeah I'm pretty stressed as well, have been told by the profs in the US I have been emailing that I have a very strong track record but it just isn't working out with as many people I'd like to, many have said they don't have funding for internationals or they already are in touch with a domestic student so my chances are low but I should still apply given my profile. I'm going through a rough patch financially so I'll have to be careful where I apply to. I do have a professor who seems to be interested in me at Wisconsin-Madison so I hope that zoom call with him goes well. I'm a final year master student from India by the way. 

Good luck to your call! Are those professors you get in touch in weak committee determined programs? 

I am gonna reach out some PIs and program directors maybe

Edited by darklings

9 hours ago, darklings said:

Good luck to your call! Are those professors you get in touch in weak committee determined programs?