What people said when you told them you were accepted...

crv7867

The response from people I don't know very well:

Them: "Wow, the US!"

Me: "Yep, the US!"

Them: "And for how long is that? One year? Two?"

Me: "Five. Theoretically."

Them: "Five... (indefinite shocked silence, while they carefully back away)"

I've been trying to tell my dad for the past 4 years (I've been applying to PhD programs for 4 years and finally got into a school!) that if I get into a PhD program it will be completely funded. He has a "yeah right!" attitude about it. When I showed him my acceptance (full ride+stipend+professorship) he shrugged it off and said, "how are you going to pay for that?" I explained to him I don't have to pay but instead I get paid. He seems clueless. Parents can be so dense!

Mom: "Where are you going? What? Where? Spell that. So, you are going to be in school until you're old..."

A Surprisingly large number of friends from back home: "Didn't you start your PhD, like, two years ago?"

"Oh? Where else did you get in? Oh, nowhere? Do you have any more schools you're still waiting to hear from? Don't give up hope yet... Oh, you want to go there? Well... then congratulations!"

Yeah. Tell me how you really feel!

Even if no one else understands my choice, I know that my dreams really just came true for me, and I am so...very...excited!! :)

When I got accepted to the first school, without funding, my mom was like "Well, even if you don't get funding and can't afford to go, I'm still proud you got in!" She, like, was ultra excited that I even got accepted (which shows she understands how hard it is even to get to that point!). She was even more excited when I got into the other school with funding :)