Canadian Applicants 2014

CharlieRae

Hello,

I thought I would start this for those of us who have applied to Canadian universities for graduate studies. I have applied to four clinical psychology programs across Canada. I am hoping to enter into a Clinical Psychology program as a graduate student.

I figure this is a good place for us to share our experience/success/frustration and so forth.

Cheers,

Charlize

I made the transition to Canada from New York just this year (I'm a 1st year MSc student). If anyone is in a similar situation or has any questions about moving from the US to Canada, I'd be more than happy to help out in any way that I can :-)

I made the transition to Canada from New York just this year (I'm a 1st year MSc student). If anyone is in a similar situation or has any questions about moving from the US to Canada, I'd be more than happy to help out in any way that I can :-)

Hi,

What made you to transfer from NewYork to Canada ?? I mean I was also thinking to apply in canadian schools for my MS in I/O along with US universities. So it would be great if you can share your experience with Canada and what benefits an international student can reap in Canada ?? I am bit skeptical considering Canada for my MS in terms of quality education and job opportunities.

Thanks in advance to take some time out to have a look at it. 

regards

I am bit skeptical considering Canada for my MS in terms of quality education and job opportunities.

Well that's not very nice to write off an entire country. Of course there is a range of programs, but many Canadian universities rank among the world's best. My own department is in the top 15 social psychology programs in the world. I also see two Canadian IO departments on this SOIP list of top 40 IO programs.

There are some great schools in Canada.  You may have missed the deadlines for most of them, though.  Psyc deadlines are usually pretty early in the U.S. and Canada.