I Think I've Made a Huge Mistake

ETH2014

So, I'm a masters student in Neuroscience at the ETH Zurich currently. Recently I've been asking myself whether or not I've made a mistake by accepting this program. I had the choice to attend Ivy League schools (UPenn, Columbia), and I think if my resume said COLUMBIA instead of ETH, I'd have more success applying for jobs. I had similar thoughts when I accepted UCLA's offer over Berkeley's, and haven't been sure whether or not I've made the right decision. Read these two statements to feel how these two profiles sound different.

Graduated from Berkeley undergrad, completed a Masters at Columbia.

Graduated from UCLA undergrad, completed a Masters at ETH Zurich.

They feel completely different!

I guess this is all field dependent...

ETH Zurich is huge in my field at least. When I read the school name in your post, in my head I thought "Oh wow, great school." In my field at least, there are only a few schools that are held to the Stanford, UWashington level. ETH Zurich is one of those schools.

I think I also made a huge mistake. I went to one of the best schools in the world for undergrad and went to one of the best schools in the world for graduate school and it isn't my mentality or personality holding me back, it has to be the weak name brand of me going to top 20 schools overall in the world. 

You're trolling but I'll bite. Your resume could say Harvard Undergrad MIT Master Stanford PHD. It won't make a difference to employers if you haven't done shit at any institution. Do you honestly believe you would get a Postdoc based on where you did your PHD? Its whose lab you're in and what you've published. Also having gone to UCLA for undergrad I find the notion you regretting UCLA for Berkley offensive. It could be worse though, at least its not USC, then I'd have to rub it in how badly we slayed you on saturday. :P