Hi, I'm new to this forum

Stephαnie

Hi, my name is Stephanie and I am currently a first-year PhD student in English Literature at UBC. My life right now is basically seminars, papers, reading, presentations, bibliographies, yoga, dancing, walking around and enjoying the beautiful city of Vancouver. I'm lucky to be living in such a lovely place, to have the chance to pursue higher education, and to not have to worry about money for the next few years.

I am, however, looking for something more, which is why I decided to make an account here. I'm approaching my mid-twenties now and very much aware that with each passing month I am only going to get older. I am at the prime dating time of my life, but I'm just not meeting anybody I like because my day-to-day life is so filled. I have lots of friends and acquaintances, but many of them are at a transient or uncertain period in their life now. There doesn't seem to be anyone on the same page as me in terms of life-goals.

My parents are immigrants, so I have to build my local connections almost entirely on my own. I also don't have a religious affiliation, which means I'm missing out on a lot of networking that happens at religious gatherings. I would identify myself as a Third Culture Individual, my three cultures being China (where my parents are from), Singapore (where I spent the first part of my youth), and North America-- Canada a bit more than the States (where I spent the latter part of my youth). In terms of citizenship I am American by birthright, but looking to obtain Canadian citizenship soon because I enjoy living in Canada more.

I speak perfect North American English, and am also fluent in Mandarin, meaning I don't have to translate in my head before I speak. I am however a bit stronger in English than I am in Mandarin. I also speak a little bit of French, but not fluently, and am open to learning other languages. I pick up languages quite easily.

I'm looking for someone who: