Fall 2016 Applicants

rococo_realism

Hello, all! There's no thread going for those of us in the Fall 2016 cohort, so I thought that I'd get the ball rolling.

I'm an Americanist, and I'm applying to 5-6 programs, mostly Ph.D. I tend to take a sociological bent in my analysis, and, because I majored in English as an undergrad, I also like to incorporate critical and literary theory.

Care to share, anyone? :)

• 2 weeks later...

Hello! As of now, I'm applying to 5-6 programs, 4 PhD and probably 2 MA. Almost all of them are on the west coast. 

I'm interested in the development of modern art in Europe and America, particularly women artists and visual/material culture. Interdisciplinarity is also important to me, as I was a double major with anthropology in undergrad. 

Hi! I'm likely applying to 7-8 programs (we'll see). I have an MA in Art History with extra-departmental specialization in Sexual Diversity. I'm interested in German photography, particularly LGBT artists and artist groups working around/during Paragraph 175 and the political discrepancies regarding the rule in the East/West. 

• 3 months later...

I've just completed an MA and I applied for 5 phd programs to study lgbtq contemporary art. I have no idea what to do with myself for the next few months while we're all waiting - it's kind of terrifying knowing that a few emails anywhere from a few weeks to a few months from now will determine what happens next but until I get those responses, it feels like endless limbo. I feel like asking to be put in a medically induced coma...

Hi there! I'm glad to see an art history thread - so many science/math threads out there. I'm applying to eight schools (PhD), with two in progress. 

I'm a twentieth century modernist (American/European) specializing in the interplay of identity, cosmopolitan memory, and the globalization of charged imagery.

Most art history programs start deliberating within the next week or two, so we'll start hearing soon, I hope!

Hello,