Just Getting Started...

historynerd97

Hello world! 

I guess this will be relatively long, but I'm interested in getting my masters/PhD in history! Currently, I'm a sophomore student at Penn State University in the Schreyer Honors College. My goal is to get into a relatively top tier university for my master's. Specifically, I have been looking at Harvard, Columbia, UCLA, UC-Berkeley, University of Washington, University of Virginia, and a few others. I decided to come here first because I don't know, really, where to start. I know, being a sophomore, I still have some time, but I'd like some input from others. 

Currently, I have a 3.58 GPA with a 3.825 GPA in the history major. I am also majoring in Public Relations/Advertising and minoring in English Literature. I have already completed a 30-page research paper for a 400-level course during my freshman year and received an A for the course. This upcoming semester, I will be continuing this with another 400-level course and plan to take at least 7 senior-level courses before graduation. Between my freshman and sophomore year, I worked for a hotel. However, this year, I am trying to explore more options into history-based internships. I will complete both a thesis for history and a thesis for my public relations major. At this time, I have not participated in research. I do hold a prestigious leadership position within the Honors College and will be joining my schools History Honors Society later this semester and am in two other clubs on campus. I've also gotten to know two professors extremely well and am sure, in the future, they would write me letters of recommendation. 

So, that's a little bit about me. I was wondering if anybody out there had any suggestions as to how I should move forward, what I should focus on, and what I can expect when starting the grad school process. Any help is appreciated, thanks so much!!