Graduate Programs, is my GRE going to hurt me?

Hello!

Like alot of people this time of the year, I am super stressed out about getting accepted into a graduate program for SLP. I want to be a medical SLP so my programs were very limited. I looked at schools that had Hospitals on their campus/ connected to or programs with unique course. Here are the schools:

1. University Washington MedSLP (the dream haha)
  2. MGH IHP, Boston
  3. Rush University
  4. CU Boulder (I am an undergrad here now)
  5. University of Kentucky
  6. New York Medical College 
  7. Columbia, Teachers College
  8. University of Florida, Gainseville
  9. University of Georgia
  10. Louisiana State University, New Orleans

My GPA is a 3.76 but my GREs are Q: 149, V: 149 W: 4.5. I had a professor tell me there is a 90% chance I won't get in to any of these programs. 

I have both research and clinical experience with a lot of observation hours; and volunteering work. I just finished my SLPA program this fall. 

To past applicants, do I have a shot at these programs or should I add some less competitive programs? Please help a girl out cause I am a hot mess rn.

I am shocked that your professor would tell you that, and I hate that you had to hear that. Honestly, to me, it is very belittling considering you have a high GPA and experience within the field. 

Since you are applying to ten schools, I feel your chances are pretty high. Are some of those schools back up schools that you meet all the requirements for or all they all a stretch?  Have you looked into University of Cincinnati? They have top rated hospitals right by their medical campus, so I am sure that they would have wonderful placements. I am applying there, but for audiology. 

2 hours ago, FutureAuD03 said:

I am shocked that your professor would tell you that, and I hate that you had to hear that. Honestly, to me, it is very belittling considering you have a high GPA and experience within the field.