First-Generation Grad Students Thread

CafeteroJr

Hey GC,

I'm a first-gen college grad entering my first year of grad school at Villanova this August, pursuing my MA in Political Science! I would love to see if there are other first-gen students on here so that we can all get to know each other a little ?I'll start:

So my parents emigrated from Colombia to the USA in the late 80s to flee the cartel violence, and roughly eight years later, I was born in Miami! I went to pretty rough-around-the-edges public schools in my neighborhood for elementary and middle school, where I hung around with MS13 kids and other gang kids. Since my mom was afraid of me being a part of "those kind of people", or as she would put it in Spanish "con esos pelados", she put me in a private Catholic high school on a full scholarship. I graduated top 10% of my class, went to the Bay Area for college, currently doing a year of service as a volunteer, and this August will be moving to Philadelphia to pursue my MA in Villanova.

What's your story? How did you get to where you are now?

Edited by CafeteroJr
Adding questions at the end

Hey, I have not yet been accepted to grad school, but I will also be a first generation! My parents are immigrants from Macedonia, and moved to Canada. I took Social Work and Disability Studies at the University of Windsor. As a student with a disability, it was great to learn more advocacy skills for my group, and also how to be an ally for other marginalized groups. I did a lot of volunteer work during my undergrad (over twelve volunteer placements) and was able to juggle four part time jobs on top of my full time placement. My placement was at The Canadian Mental Health Association, which I loved with my whole heart.

I have applied to Stony Brook University in Stony Brook, New York, and hope I can showcase my potential at this amazing establishment.