Should I retake the Psyc GRE?

Hi Everyone,

So I took my psyc subject test in April and found out about the score this morning. It was pretty bad to be honest. I know the percentile is whats it matters, and 68% is still very bad. I also forgot to cancel my free score recipients before the test so some schools (sadly, some of my dream schools), would get this bad score. However, I see that I still have time to retake this test in Oct, but I don't know if I should, given the fact that those schools will receive this first score either way. 

I am planning to apply to clinical psychology programs, and I know the application review is holistic. But I am very worried that having this bad score could negatively impact my application, more so than not sending it entirely. I guess my questions is, for the schools I already sent the score to, should I retake the test to make up for the first test? 

I majored in psychology and statistics in undergrad. My psyc GPA is 3.9. I am working full time as a research assistant right now, with a thesis and some conference presentations listed on my resume. 

I would really like to get some opinions on this. Thank you guys so much in advance!

If you think you can improve your score and study more for the test, and you can financially afford it, I would retake it. Rarely does retaking a standardized test and improving negatively impact your application packet. 

What is considered a good percentile score on the Psych GRE? 

I do know that the test is not required for most applications, especially if you majored in psych in undergrad, so they may not even look at the score very seriously as a reflection of your ability in psych. 

17 hours ago, Applicant4788 said:

What is considered a good percentile score on the Psych GRE? 

I do know that the test is not required for most applications, especially if you majored in psych in undergrad, so they may not even look at the score very seriously as a reflection of your ability in psych.