Should I mention in my PhD application that I don't need funding? (and how to do that)

Belkis

I'm 40 years old and financially independent. I'm a writer receiving royalties from previously published books, so I don't need to work. Also, my husband has a good job. The only reason I want to get a PhD is to increase my authority as a writer/expert in my field (behavioral/evolutionary psychology) and also to be able to do independent research that will result in new books and consulting clients (of course, I can and do independent research without a PhD, but then I run into the "authority problem", so I'd rather have the degree). I don't want to teach or work in a lab. I also don't want to be forced to do it (because of funding). I'd rather do much of my PhD at home (I understand I'll need to take classes in person and show up for meetings. That's ok. I just don't want to WORK in any lab/department, participate in journal clubs and this kind of stuff). 

Is there any advantage to be in this position and reveal to the schools I'm interested in that I don't need or want any funding? Would this make me less desirable to top schools?

How (in which phase of the application process) should I mention that?

I’m not sure how likely it is that programs would accept a student who does not want to do research and wants to work only on their own terms. It’s not how a PhD works regardless of funding status. 

Why not find an online program and buy your PhD? Or do a course-based masters? 

Thanks for your input. I have considered online programs and something like that would actually be ideal. But as a writer, I have a public reputation and being "branded" as having a PhD from an online school is undesirable. Getting a degree from a top school or relatively good school would translate into better book deals (with big publishers) and better reputation.