Wait another year or unfunded PhD :/

ssg

Ugh.. Once again I didn't get any interviews for PhD programs (which is kind of understandable because the programs I applied to are highly competitive + with COVID there have been funding cuts and more applicants than past years) but after two rounds of applying, coming into my applications strong and 0 interviews both times, I'm feeling pretty defeated. I have a strong cv with 2 pubs, several posters and 4 of them are first author, and 5 years of research experience. My undergrad GPA was a 3.5 and I did a masters and got about the same (3.6-I had some mental health issues which took a dig at my academic performance), and a strong statement that 3 of my mentors and two former colleagues who are now PhD students all gave the green light to. Because of the amount of debt I got into with my masters, a fully funded program is preferable to me but seems almost impossible at this point. Alternatively, I could wait next year, get a few more pubs out, and hope an R01 will interview and take me, or apply to PhD programs in less competitive disciplines like social work, but the career options I want (research, teaching and mentoring, supervising trainees) are what a clinical psychologist has. Yesterday, I found out that Palo Alto University's PhD program  is still taking apps on a rolling basis for the next month. The program isn't funded, but I have colleagues that go there and all have said the research and clinical training are great because of the universities close affiliation with stanford. Since I am coming in with a masters I am also eligible for paid teaching assistantships. If I choose to go to a program like this, I would want to excel, because I know the reputations of non funded programs can be suspicious, so I could get a strong internship and postdoc (which I also know these things are super competitive as well) to hopefully one day get a research/teaching position.