Berkeley's arrogance

angelayar

Berkeley was a bad fit and I may discover that my application for other institutions wasn't so great.

But I'm completely astonished that people will accept their treatment at the hands of Berkeley. As a foreign student, I had to pay $100 to apply to Berkeley. In my home country, it is free to apply for graduate school. Where is my money?

Berkeley mismatched my GRE scores and didn't even bother to tell me. Then they said out a totally dehumanizing email telling me to check my account and then just read some form rubbish.

I'm going to write a letter to Ethan Shagan, who is responsible for this degrading treatment. YES RESPONSIBLE. He is department chair and under his watch this has happened.

Please can others join me. His email address is: shagan@berkeley.edu

Here is the website of this gentleman: http://history.berkeley.edu/people/ethan-h-shagan

And really, please don't post nonsense about this being the process and me being p'd off. Obviously I'm upset not to be admitted but I'm ANGRY that this is the way people are treated. And please understand, if this is how they treat you now at this august institution, this is how they will treat you when you finally get your PhD from wherever.

Just don't take this from them. Please

Edited by angelayar

I did not apply to Berkeley, so I don't know if the fee is higher for international applicants. But applications for PhD programs in the United States are rarely free and are frequently in the $100 range for top programs.

You should complain about them mismatching your GRE scores, though. Do you know they mixed them up because incorrect scores appear on your account? I'd imagine the program would be glad to alerted that something is wrong with this part of the admissions process.