Advice to your past self!

Marshalltown

Applying...... save up more money and don't burn through all your vacation/sick days at work!  The process is way more expensive than you think it is and you'll need that vacation/sick time when interviews come up suddenly.

Choosing (based on where I did my Master's)....... getting out of your comfort zone is a smart move, stop second guessing it.

Preparing (based on my Master's)..... *ahem* you have resting bitch face, try to smile more!

2 minutes ago, cedarmusings said:

In choosing a program, trust your gut. It knows better than your head.

I was going to actually write something to the same effect. I'd say: Both qualitative impressions (e.g. gut instincts) and quantitative impressions (e.g. stipend offer) are important. Past-me used to value quantitative things a lot more because past-me didn't know how to handle qualitative things. Dear Past-Me, don't be afraid to listen to your gut---it may not be a quantitative measure, but it's still a data point! It turns out pretty much all of your gut instincts were right (I did end up going with my gut in the end, so everything went well, but I felt a little uneasy about it, which doesn't help imposter syndrome!)

Honestly, I'm not sure I would tell past-me to go to a PhD program, if I had the chance.

Assuming that I would, though, I would tell past-me to apply to more PhD programs. I only applied to one, because I was afraid I wouldn't be competitive anywhere (I was planning to get a master's first).

I'd also tell past me to take 2-3 years off after undergrad and before graduate school to work in my chosen field (public health). I think then past-me would've had a better handle on her own research interests and been better prepared to hit the ground running in graduate school wrt publications.