Low GPA... Is there hope for me?

Hi everyone,

I am a recent graduate with my degree in speech, language hearing sciences. Reality hit me recently that I have a 2.8 GPA as a result of some tough life events and also prioritizing fun over studying throughout my college career.

I am extremely passionate about the field and have been since I declared my major as a freshman in college, and there is nothing in the world I want more than to get into graduate school and pursue this passion. I know for a fact that there is not 'plan B' for me because this field is for me. 

I am taking a year off to recuperate and get my act together, however, I'm feeling really discouraged, regretful, and lost because of the GPA situation that I am in right now. I know I am capable of a lot more but didn't stay as proactive as I should've throughout my undergrad years.

I volunteered with a school SLP for a year, taught English in Thailand for a summer, and I've been accepted into a volunteer program in a hospital SLP setting, and I am studying for the GRE.

Like I said, I feel very lost and I would appreciate if anyone has some insight on things I could do to get myself into a grad program for Fall '19, or if anyone has been in a similar situation as me and what they did to prove themselves on their applications.