Is attending a lower-ranked program worth it?

I'm interested in hearing perspectives on this. Given that the job market is so bad and even those with doctoral degrees from top-10 or top-20 programs are having trouble finding jobs, is there any point going to a program that is ranked below, say, 50? By "point," I mean in terms of getting an academic job. I think there is probably little difference in quality of education from one program to the next, but is it realistic to think I could get an academic job if I got my degree at, say, Boston College or Fordham?

Edited by Indecisive Poet

12 minutes ago, Indecisive Poet said:

I'm interested in hearing perspectives on this. Given that the job market is so bad and even those with doctoral degrees from top-10 or top-20 programs are having trouble finding jobs, is there any point going to a program that is ranked below, say, 50? By "point," I mean in terms of getting an academic job. I think there is probably little difference in quality of education from one program to the next, but is it realistic to think I could get an academic job if I got my degree at, say, Boston College or Fordham?

From what I am understanding from research and observation, this is quite a complex question. Some schools may give you a second look because you attended a top 10 over a lower ranked one, but if you flourish more, contribute more to your subfield in that lower ranked one, I ultimately don't think they would ignore you because you didn't attend a top 10. This is probably why people push fit and culture, because you can go to a top program and be lost among the crowd with nothing to show from your time there. 

So, I would go with/apply to whatever schools you are interested in, even if they are ranked at or below 50.The job market seems to be a mess regardless. Just my 2 cents. :) 

1 hour ago, Cryss said:

this is quite a complex question.

Strong disagree. It's very straightforward: it is not at all worth it.