'Minorities' in 'Majority' Departments

BrokenRecord

For starters, I have been graciously offered a fully funded masters to one of the top programs and public health schools in my field. I am also a black female from the south in a very....almost exclusively....white male dominated science department and field. As a matter of fact, I believe I am the only black female in my department---ever (not confirmed) in its 60 years of existence so I certainly feel that pressure to set the standard. I visited the department on an initial recruitment visit and everyone was exceptionally enthusiastic, accommodating and nice, even setting up a visit with a particular department on campus dedicated to diversity in graduate education. My background is upper-middle class, so I am familiar with being the "only black person" in a class, sporting team, etc. I also attended an HBCU (historically black college or university) for undergrad. I feel that I have to work harder than everyone else as to not re-enforce the stereotype consciously or sub-consciously associated with my ethnicity and gender. The fact that I am also funded increases that sense of responsibility. I think I am making more of it than what it is as I have not moved yet, but I can't help but to feel anxious about the unknown.

Has anyone ever been in this type of situation (not just ethnic minorities, but women/men, homosexual, disabilities, religion, customs, etc.) where you've been the "only" one or one of the only ones in your department? How did it effect you? Did you feel a greater burden or sense of responsibility? I'd appreciate your input.

Hi there,