Baby on the way

MrPootawn

Hi all,

First time poster here but hoping to solicit some advice while remaining anonymous.

I'm in my 4th year of my PhD.  I expect I have anywhere from 15-24 months remaining before I am ready to defend/graduate (that includes thesis being written, edited etc).

I just found out my girlfriend is pregnant (5 weeks or so), and lets just say it was unexpected. 

She works full-time for a NPO, and though we are comfortable financially we are just barely on the cusp of that category.  My grad student salary is modest, her salary is respectable and we own a home together as well as 2 vehicles. 

If we were to have the baby, our respective parents would be thrilled and certainly help out financially but we're worried about being spread too thin.  Kids are expensive and a ton of work, and though we want to have kids eventually we weren't planning on doing so this early. 

So any advice?  Is it manageable?  Will it delay my graduation significantly as well as hamstring my future educational goals? (I am considering medical school after my PhD).  Any advice, anecdotal or otherwise would be much appreciated.

As a mother of two small children (6 and 3), yes, it is possible, manageable, etc. etc. It is also challenging in ways that non-parents cannot begin to fathom - words cannot adequately describe the way your life will change.

I cannot imagine that it would delay your graduation at all, nor set you up for failure in your future endeavors (there are enough of us student-parents out there to prove that it is indeed possible). If you find a future program gives you any flak because you have a child, that's a program you don't want to go to. It really is that simple.