Moving to graduate school with significant other

I was wondering if anyone here is also moving with a significant other, or having experience with doing so.

I am currently an undergraduate senior, have been dating my boyfriend for two years (we currently live together), and I am moving across the country for a PhD program and our plan now is that he is going to come with me. I feel like it may be important to say that our relationship is very stable.

Is it difficult to maintain a relationship while in graduate school? How has this panned out for anyone else? 

I am in the same boat as you - cross country move with an S.O. for my graduate education.  We've been together many years and have been through moves together before.

Although I can't yet speak to maintaining a relationship in grad school, I found that with moving the toughest part is just finding a new job (in this case, my SO will be the one looking since I have my stipend from school).  Once they get re-settled in terms of employment, the "on edge" feeling tends to disperse.  The rockiest part is always right at the beginning of a move, I think.  Moving is stressful, so is finding work!

But given that we've done it before, I think it's doable.  Good luck to you both!

First of all, congratulations, and good for you! :) I've heard a lot of negative things about long-distance relationships (and some positive, too). It can be especially hard to switch to long-distance after living together, or so I've heard. Besides, you're guaranteed a (hopefully good) roommate this way! :)

I'm in a similar boat. I've been with my SO for 3 years now he's moving across the country with me, though not until January since that's when his job ends.

I agree wit Munashi: your SO will probably want to find a job ASAP. There are lots of guides on how to start searching for a job before moving. I haven't tested any yet. :P But it's definitely something to look into before the move!