Passed over for Ford Foundation Pre-doctoral Fellowship

Jrxw14

Over the past few days I've experienced a huge slump in my graduate career.  I'm a first year graduate student in the social sciences who thought it'd be a good idea to apply for the Ford Foundation Pre-doctoral fellowship...boy was I wrong.  I received a rejection a few days ago despite relatively high marks from reviewers and an application that I put everything I had into.  No honorable mention, no waitlist, just a flat out rejection.  What's worse is someone in my cohort received the fellowship that I wanted.  I know for a fact that my work is at least as good as theirs if not better, so I'm struggling to reconcile the fact that some random academics deemed my project inadequate.  Any tips for not going off when fellowship committees don't know what they're doing?  Clearly I've heard all of the "many qualified applicants and too few awards" and "sometimes these things just happen" clichés, but I'm looking for something more thoughtful, ideally from others who have been wronged and watch others take what they don't deserve.

32 minutes ago, marshon95 said:

What's worse is someone in my cohort received the fellowship that I wanted.  I know for a fact that my work is at least as good as theirs if not better, so I'm struggling to reconcile the fact that some random academics deemed my project inadequate.  Any tips for not going off when fellowship committees don't know what they're doing?  Clearly I've heard all of the "many qualified applicants and too few awards" and "sometimes these things just happen" clichés, but I'm looking for something more thoughtful, ideally from others who have been wronged and watch others take what they don't deserve.