Being told no

So I’m an undergrad sophomore with a gpa of a 3.0 I’m going to start my junior year in the fall and I’ll be lucky if I graduate with a 3.4. I’m scared I’m going to be told by my director of my major that I should change my major because I won’t get in to grad school. Has anyone ever been told they can’t do it but ended up getting in??

A short summary of my grad school journey, it took three grad application cycles to get into graduate school. I ended with a gpa very close to a 3.4 and was disappointed when I wasn't accepted. At the same time I know that this was something I wanted to do and I couldn't give up! My last time applying I was accepted into 3 graduate programs. Do not give up! :) PM me if you have any questions!

Remember that numbers don’t make or break your application!! Your experiences and interests are the things that matter most. I took two years off after college because I had no idea if I wanted to go into speech or find another career, but decided to apply for my first cycle (for fall 2019 start). I work in research for speech. 

I have a 3.23 overall undergrad GPA (heh I was premed and had some unrelated personal issues) and my final results are 6 acceptances and 3 waitlists. I believe in you! If you receive any negative opinions/comments from professors, friends, or family, prove ‘em wrong. 

Edited by BioCook
Add info

When I first entered the major I had a 2.5 GPA because I started in a major that I did not do well in. My advisor told me not to bother switching to CMD because I would never get into grad school. I didn't listen and went into the major anyways. I worked my ass off and brought my GPA up to a 3.4 and did not get less than a B+ in any CMD class (except neuro i only received a B- still upset lol) this was my first cycle applying. I have been accepted to 1 school and waitlisted at 3 schools so it can be done don't give up! I did a lot of internships while in the major and I think that really helped me stand out.