How did you figure out your research interest(s)?

CoffeeErryday

Hey y'all!

I'm currently applying to Clinical Psychology PhD programs for Fall 2021 admissions. This will be my first time every going through the application cycle, so yes, I'm very excited and very nervous :D Here's my conundrum though, I'm still not sure about my research interests. I just graduated from with my MA in Psychology this Spring, so I have had 2 years of 'official' psychology experience, if you may, and while I thoroughly enjoyed every core class I took (biopsych, ethics, cognitive, stats, etc), I'm still not sure about what exactly I want to research for the next 5 years... Almost every topic seems so exciting to pursue! And it's like this buffet where I want to eat everything (I mean, try every kind of sub topic haha). So, my main question is, how did you discover or get to know what exactly you want research? How did you know that a specific sub-field was 'the one' for you?

Any advice or perspective will be really appreciated! Thanks y'all!

Hey there.  If you have your MA, that means you did a Masters thesis, right? Was that a topic that you were super interersted in? What other research experiences have you had, and how might those shape your future research?

It's all interesting, but at some point we have to figure out what we are really passionate about, that made us want to do the particular branch of psychology to begin with.  Why do you want to do a Clinical PhD? Is there a particular population you want to work with, or a certain diagnosis you want to specialize in? 

I would start doing some reflective journaling about what you hope to accomplish as a researcher or scientist or clinician. Who do you want to help? What do you think is the most important question to ask? What do you envision yourself doing in 10, 15, 20 years? 

Also - do you have a good mentor that you could talk to about this?