Addressing professors by their first names

guinevere29

I am a first year student in a PhD program. I came directly out of undergrad, so I am also on the young end of things age-wise, and at the beginning of the semester I erred on the conservative side and addressed all my emails to professors as "Professor _____," though in responses my professors have generally signed with their first names. It is also fairly typical that graduate students call professors by their first names in my department, especially the older students in the department. What I'm wondering is: current grad students, do you/when did you transition into calling professors by their first names? Can I generally assume it's fine to address them by their first names in the future?

Even as an undergraduate, I address my research advisors by their first names as soon as I feel like we have an open line of communication for projects, and as long as there are no hostilities. You can also see what other students in your program or cohort address the professor as. I say that yes, it's fine to address the professor by his/her first name in the future.

I've always addressed all of my professors by their first names, as does everybody else in my program. The only weirdness arises when speaking in non-English languages that distinguish familiar and formal pronouns (and corresponding verbal agreement), where I would use the professor's title+last name in the other language, but their first name in English. We quickly established that the familiar forms could be used, but honestly without this context it would be very odd. Basically my suggestion is to either follow what others are doing; if you're unsure, just ask.