Why do you come (What keeps you coming back) to the Grad Cafe?

Claire Wang

I used to be a grad school applicant struggling with the whole application process, then I was lucky enough to get into the program I like and I've been studying here for a year. However, thinking about my life back in the day when I was using forums like The Grad Cafe, I still feel overwhelmed. 

1. There are large amount of disorganized information here and you need to sort it out by yourself, which always spends a lot of time and energy.

2. There is a specified section for people to post admission result there. Going there and checking out people's admission status doesn't make it easier / faster for you to get your result. 

3. Maybe emotional support for each other is important along the application road?

Anyone want to say something about the reason why you come to the Grad Cafe and what information you found super helpful in here? :huh:

I like forums. I enjoy being able to ask a question and get different opinions (or trolling through archives to find the answers). I've made connections on this site that lead to external group formation and yeah, being able to talk to others in the process makes it feel a bit less lonely. 

I was not on Grad Cafe when I applied because I didn't know about it. I only found out about it when I encountered a difficult situation with my advisors, so I started posting to get advice. I then shared my stress of writing my thesis but I didn't get a lot of replies though. Still, it's better than nobody responded. Grad school seems like a totally different world, and someone who has never been in there will never understand how difficult it is. They just know it is difficult and wish you good luck, but they don't know how to support you emotionally. It is terrible when your friends all ask when you will graduate but you don't know.