Do people actually get off waitlists?

So the schools that I have heard back from so far have all been waitlists. Does anyone know if it’s actually possible to get into a grad program from a waitlist?! Obviously every school is different, but it is just very stressful knowing you may not get in. The schools I have replied to basically said they won’t give out any information about ranking/how many people were waitlisted. Anyone else in this same boat? Have any positive thoughts?! 

I am a first year graduate student and I know of many many people who got in off wait lists, in fact I think more than half of my class was put on the waitlist at first! Most people apply to around 5-8 schools, so everyone that gets accepted first round has until April 15th to decide, and then they have to turn down all the other offers at the other schools they applied to which opens many more spots after April 15th. So usually they send out a lot more acceptances after April 15th, and then then they keep sending out more and more acceptances until all the spots are filled. I know a girl who got waitlisted at all 5 schools she applied to, and ended up getting into all 5 after April 15th. I've heard of people getting off the waitlist as late as July. Good luck! 

While I'm not in SPL, I was waitlisted for one of my schools, and did receive an acceptance letter ~2 weeks after my waitlist email. In my instance, one of the faculty members at the school personally arranged some funds for me and got me accepted. The acceptance later basically said if I did accept, I would have to work in his lab due to this. 

Totally! One of my friends actually got accepted a few weeks after April 15th (after been waitlisted and rejected everywhere), and even received a grant! Every school, like you said, is different though. Some end up accepting many people off the waitlist and some only maybe one or two, but I wouldn't give up yet! :)