Canada MSW 2020

rolearly34

Hey, I'm planning to apply to the Advanced MSW at UVic, UBC, UBCO, UT Toronto, Laurier, and Renison. 

GPA is low 80's ish. If they count teaching ESL as SW experience, then I have 7 years of experience, if not, I have about 2-3 years experience between working at a day program, teaching youth with special needs, and volunteering on a crisis line. 

Some questions: does anyone know if applying to UT is less competitive if you apply for certain specializations? (I'd guess less people apply for Social Justice or Geriatrics than Mental Health?)  Has anyone heard anything about the quality of the UBC MSW? 

Edited by SquigglesSquiggles

On 8/29/2019 at 3:45 PM, SquigglesSquiggles said:

Hey, I'm planning to apply to the Advanced MSW at UVic, UBC, UBCO, UT Toronto, Laurier, and Renison. 

GPA is low 80's ish. If they count teaching ESL as SW experience, then I have 7 years of experience, if not, I have about 2-3 years experience between working at a day program, teaching youth with special needs, and volunteering on a crisis line. 

Some questions: does anyone know if applying to UT is less competitive if you apply for certain specializations? (I'd guess less people apply for Social Justice or Geriatrics than Mental Health?)  Has anyone heard anything about the quality of the UBC MSW? 

I attended a U of T info session, and they said that all the streams were equally competitive. They know that certain streams are more popular (like health and mental health, and children and their families) so they have more slots available in those streams than in the less popular ones. So applying for a less popular stream does not increase your chances of getting in unfortunately.

Edited by Ihatethissomuch

Hey!