Switching to psychology in 30s

Newbee2019

Hi

I have a master's degree in computer science from a while ago. Been working for the past decade or so. I am interested in studying psychology out of interest and to switch careers. I believe that I can do master's degree to get some subject matter foundation before applying for PhD (I already have the basic prerequisites for master's covered such as introduction to psychology, intro stats).

I'm looking for universities in New York City area that have a master's program which can be a stepping stone to get into a good University for PhD later. I am concerned that NYU is hard to get in given my background (no research or psych related experience). How about teacher's college? Does it have good faculty/research/reputation? Also, considering master's in CUNY but I am not sure how much of a stepping stone it is in terms of quality of education and research experience and reputation when it comes to admission for PhD in a good Uni later on.

Any advice/direction is much appreciated!

Which subfield in psychology are you interested in applying to (e.g. clinical, developmental, cognitive)? I know several faculties in cognitive/neuroscience are very interested in computer scientists because their skills are relevant to computational neuroscience research. 

3 hours ago, Newbee2019 said:

@HACThanks for the response! I am interested in areas that fall under developmental and clinical. Also the traditional programming I am used to may be irrelevant to computational neuroscience research.

Oh alright. Do you have any mentors in mind already? Have you also considered looking for RA jobs? I think a big part of any strong psychology application is research experience. You can gain experience in a masters but it may also be possible by working in a lab for some time and building up your resume that way as well.