what time period(s) fascinate you?

Guest Gnome Chomsky

I've always been fascinated by the 40s.  The fashion, how people would dress up to go places, the music, train travel, and the manners.  It just seems like an interesting time to have been a fly on the wall.

The late 1930s into the late 1960s - World War II, the Red Scare/Cold War, the Vietnam War and social upheaval.  It's because I'm a social psychologist and I think society's conflicts and social movements say a lot about us as people, and there was so much change going on worldwide at that particular time.

The late Edwardian Era, and early 1920s. I always felt like the 1920s bridges a really interesting gap. It's the end of an era, but also when the 20th Century really got started. I think it's really exciting.

The late Edwardian Era, and early 1920s. I always felt like the 1920s bridges a really interesting gap. It's the end of an era, but also when the 20th Century really got started. I think it's really exciting.

This. I love the time period between the two World Wars. A lot of smart, tough men and women came out of this period. To me, this is the generation that defines the United States as we all imagine (or wish) it to be (minus racism and other issues). Who wouldn't want to party with Jay Gatsby?

This. I love the time period between the two World Wars. A lot of smart, tough men and women came out of this period. To me, this is the generation that defines the United States as we all imagine (or wish) it to be (minus racism and other issues). Who wouldn't want to party with Jay Gatsby?

Exactly! The art and literature that came out of this period is among my favorite. Also, I should be partying with Gatsby.

I'm really young so the 70s and 80s seem cool to me. The 1500s have always interested me, but realistically I think anything before modern medicine would have been too unsanitary for me to really appreciate haha.